ELBA2018: Frequently Asked Questions

If you still have a query after reading through our FAQs please email ELBA@e-lindsey.gov.uk

Q. How do I enter the awards?

A. Please complete a nomination form and declaration (Part 1).  Each award category specifies the criteria judges will consider.  Please read through carefully and provide a written statement on how you meet the criteria (Part 2).  Submit Part 1 and Part 2 and all appropriate supporting evidence to enquiries@lincs-chamber.co.uk.  Please ensure that the nomination form is received within the deadline and request confirmation of receipt upon submission. Only businesses based in East Lindsey are eligible to apply.

Further details on how to enter can be found in our Icon for pdf Entry Rules [149.03KB] document. All entries must be submitted by 9th March 2018.

Q. May I nominate my own business?

A. You may nominate your own business.

Q. Can anyone nominate a business?

A. Businesses can be nominated by anyone.  However, the nominated business needs to be informed and agree to the nomination.  The nominated business would typically be expected to supply the supporting evidence.

Q. How many award categories can I enter?

A. You may enter up to three award categories.  You do not need to complete separate nomination forms for each award.  Entrants need only submit one Part 1 and declaration.  Please complete and return Part 2 (statement) for each award category you enter including all supporting evidence.

Q. What supporting evidence do I need to include in my nomination?

A. Each award category is unique and may require a different range of supporting evidence; entrants are encouraged to read through the 'Relevant Evidence' list at the bottom of each criteria document to get an understanding of what information can be included. The lists are not exhaustive and applicants are encouraged to enclose evidence/ information they believe meets the 'Main judging criteria'.

Q. How will my entry be assessed?

A. Entries will initially be assessed by a shortlisting panel, who will assess the application against the 'Main judging criteria' as set out in each award category's criteria document. A score out of five will be given to each element of the criteria which will be weighted inline with the percentages detailed in the criteria document. The top three scoring entries for each category will become finalists.

Finalists will then be assessed by a Judging Panel who will visit each finalist and will also assess against the same criteria used during shortlisting. Further details can be found in our Icon for pdf Judging Process [171.18KB] document.

Q. What kind of evidence is required to show 'employee engagement and development'?

A. Evidence may be in the form of recognised personnel policies, staff meetings to improve sales and performance, personal development plans and/ or training opportunities.

Q. Do I need to evidence my business's entire digital presence?

A. The more social media accounts a business has, the more points they get.  It will be helpful to send all links to the accounts for verification.


Accommodation Provider of the Year Award

Q. What are 'accessibility credentials'?

A. Accessibility credentials refer to the efforts made to make your accommodation as accessible as possible to not just wheelchair users but people with hearing loss, visual or mental impairment, older people, families with young children and more. Entrants can score more points for detailing the accessibility measures used including: entrance ramp, stairway lifts, alternative format language e.g. braille, access for assistance dogs, etc.


Lifetime Achievement in Business Award

Q. Why do you need to provide the exact number of years the nominated person has been in business?

A. The more years the nominated person has been in their relevant business, the more points they will have when assessed.

Q. What does 'association with community groups/ charitable organisations' mean?

A. Please outline as many public or charitable organisations the nominated person is actively involved with.  For example, chairmanship or non-executive directorship or similar positions in recognised charities, Lions, Rotary, etc.